Arne Torvik


Torviks debut album in his own name, featuring his sextet
Awards: Third best jazz album of the Year (Textura, CA)
release: 19. February 2016

In 2014 Arne composed this music especially for this sextet, a group consisting of some of the finest young Norwegian jazz musicians back then. It's his first record in his own name and you can definitely hear his voice in the music. The sound of the Norwegian West coast and the city Molde where he grew up. The music can described as melodic jazz with inspiration from electronic and pop music. 


Arne Torvik
– piano
Martin Myhre Olsen - alto saxophone
Kristoffer Eikrem – trumpet
Espen J. Bjarnar – guitar
Dan Peter Sundland – bass
Tomas Järmyr – drums


A superb example of small group Norwegian jazz
— Textura (CA)
One of those albums that, by keeping things simple, keeps the reasons for enjoyment coming
Torvik and his group further variate on similar simple, melodic textures, stressing the leisured yet tight and emphatic interplay
— Eyal Hareuveni, Salt Peanuts*
This a warm, emotional set from Arne Torvik and his band with fine playing all round.
— Mike Collins, LondonJazzNews

Recorded at Øra Studio, Trondheim (NO), February 2015
Engineered by Jo Ranheim, Øra Studio
Produced by Jo Ranheim and Arne Torvik
Mixed by Jo Ranheim, Jostein Ansnes and Arne Torvik, Øra Studio
Mastered by Jostein Ansnes and Jo Ranheim, Øra Studio
Cover foto by Ane Aspen
Cover Design by Christopher Owe


All music is composed and arranged by Arne Torvik himself  except "Day", "Night" and "Leaving" which Dan Peter Sundland helped with composing and arranging.