Molecules & Erlend Skomsvoll


Louder than you is Molecules & Erlend Skomsvoll´s first album.
release: november 17. 2017. 

The Norwegian six piece jazz group Molecules lead by composer and vocalist Karoline Wallace has together with the Buddy Award-winning Erlend Skomsvoll (known from Come Shine and Trondheim Jazz Orchestra)  made a sensational new album. An exciting collaboration with seven jazz musicians sharing a true pleasure of playing with a love for each other and the music. The compositions were written with the intent of creating space for the musicians individual interpretations and musicality, which is apparent on the album in the form of a highly personal interplay.

After winning the "Jazz i sikte”- contest in 2014, Molecules has performed at Nattjazz, Maijazz, Uhørt, toured Norway 2014, Norway and Switzerland 2015, and Norway’s west coast in 2016. The latter tour was the beginning of the collaboration with Erlend Skomsvoll. The musicians in Molecules all come from the Grieg Academy in Bergen and are all active musicians in a number of well established bands such as Håkon Kornstad Tenor Battle, Come Shine, 1982, Natalie Sandtorv and Vellichor.


Karoline Wallace
- vocal / compositions
Erlend Skomsvoll - piano
Tancred Heyerdahl Husø - trumpet
Jonas Flemsæter Hamre - saxophone
Mathias Marstrander - guitar
Petter Asbjørnsen - double bass
Øyvind Skarbø - drums


PlatekompanietSpotifyTidal / Cdon

Louder Than You is one of the roughest Norwegian jazz albums from 2017
— Deichmanske bibliotek (NO)
The most exciting album of the year
— Roald Helgheim, Dagsavisen (NO)
Bandet leverer både i samspel og solistisk
— Lars Mossefinn, Dag og Tid (NO)
a very impressive album
— Adam Baruch (IS)
Wallace and Molecules balance between her emotional, disarming delivery and the group thoughtful sonic envelope, with an impressive piano solo
— Eyal Hareuveni, Salt Peanuts* (IS)
Det Wallace og Molecules gir oss er original, annerledes og personlig musikk anno vår egen tid og med klare vyer for åra som kommer
— Tor Hammerø (NO)


Recorded at Athletic Sound (Halden, NO), October 28th 2016 and June 1th 2017.
Produced by Karoline Wallace. Co-produced by Øyvind Skarbø
Engineered by Kai Andersen and Dag Erik Johansen in Athletic Sound, Halden (NO)
Mixed by Antonio Pulli, Vox-Ton Studio, Berlin (DE)
Mastered by Morten Lund, Lunds Lyd, Oslo (NO)
Art work by Benedikte Wallace
Graphic design by Magnus Skarphedinsson